Angie Littlefiled

Willy Fick

February 7, 1893 – October 3, 1967

Sister Angelika, Father Richard and Willy

Family Photo taken around 1916:
Sister Angelika, Father Richard and Willy

Wilhelm Peter Hubert “Willy” Fick

In 1945 Fick started designing hospitals and public buildings for the High Rise Division of the City of Cologne. In recognition for his success as an artist, he was given one day off per week to pursue his art. He did not actively pursue exhibition but he did show works at the Wallraf-Richartz Museum in 1959–60, at the Museum Kunstpalast /Duesseldorf Museum in 1960 and occasionally in the Aloys Faust Gallery. When his only living relative, his nephew Frank Eggert, moved to Whitby, Ontario, Fick began the first of six three-month visits; these took place between 1954 and 1967. During his time in Whitby Fick painted. Applying the eyes of his European art experiences to the Canadian landscape Fick created a unique European-Canadian fusion. When he retired from the City of Cologne in 1956 Fick travelled extensively during which time he regaled his Canadian family with illustrated letters. The letters demonstrate Fick’s lifelong love of cartooning. By the mid-1960s Fick's emphysema slowed down art and travel. He managed to execute black marker sketches of scenes in Whitby and two days before his death he was installed by Professor Michel Sanouillet as an honorary member of the International Dada and Surrealism Association in recognition of his contributions to dada in Cologne. Willy Fick was buried in Whitby on October 5, 1967.

Abstammungsausweis - Proof of Heritage FRONT | BACK

The Whitby Series drawn in the 1960s

Four Corners, Whitby

Trafalgar Castle School

St. John the Evangelist RC Church

All Saints' Anglican

Angie Littlefield | 416.282.0646 |

… still more on Willy Fick click HERE